Weak Will and Natural Disasters

Photo courtesy of tacobell.com

It’s well established that I can’t pass up novelty food items. Lately I’ve been passing it off as “research” for “food journalism”, but that doesn’t explain my recent encounter at Taco Bell. I had already eaten a huge breakfast (buckwheat soba noodles in a spicy chicken broth… as hangover cure “research”) and was on my way home with a car full of people that wanted to stop for fast food. At the drive through,  I saw the sign for THE VOLCANO TACO. OMG. That thing was so spicy they died the shell neon red. I pointed at it and said something along the lines of, “I need that NOW.”

Truth is, I really didn’t need it. I was monumentally disappointed- it was not nearly hot enough to be called a VOLCANO, or even just a volcano. I’ve had mild at thai resturants that were spicier than this. The taco was basically a normal one, with a cheese sauce that tasted like they had poured a couple packets of Fire Sauce in. The shell was slightly sweeter than normal, which was a good contrast and doused the inital spicy heat enough to turn it into a lingering background burn.

Bottom Line: Better than the default taco bell taco, but not VOLCANO (TM) good. 3/10

Leave a Reply

