Review: Spatenhaus

Spaten is one of my favorite Munich beers, and we had the oppurtunity to visit the Spaten braukeller to get food and drink. For my meal I shared a plate of ox, boar, lamb, and beef which had been grilled and placed over country potatoes (fried wedges) with a side of cheese spaetzle (a German pasta, when used in this dish a sort of German mac and cheese) and a salad.

The meats were some of the best I’ve had in Munich thus far, and the spatzle was almost too rich to eat–in fact, my order ended up being shared with many others. I’ve come to realise that spaetzle is something generally considered the ‘vegetarian option’ in Munich restaurents. Much better than a portobello mushroom, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

