Collasal Falafel Failure: How one pantry meal almost caused tears.

You know what I love? Salt. I love salt. I have tried everything from pink Hawaiian sea salt to Morton’s and I just can’t seem to get enough. Salt is a lot like the Force. You can use it for good, or for evil. Casbah Natural Foods’ falafel uses it for dismal, terrible evil. A single serving (1/3 cup dry or 4 patties) contains 680 milligrams of sodium, or 28 percent. Assuming you eat two servings you’ve just consumed over half your day’s salt. And while some foods, like Twinkies, are also high in sodium, they don’t suck the moisture out of your face in quite the same cruel, Darth Vader like way.

Paired with jasmine rice, yogurt sauce and mixed vegetables I was hoping for a simple, healthy, vegetarian meal. What I got was the same feeling I got at age 10 when I accidentally pranked myself by putting salt in the sugar bowl (I was a bright child.)

Leave a Reply

