Trader Joe’s Pork Gyoza: Cheap and Filling

Mmm…Dumplings

Like any college student, I occasionally don’t have any money. On this particular occasion I also had a somewhat violent craving for Pork Gyoza, so I had my boyfriend Jim pick some up from Trader Joe’s on his way home. Way too many gyozas later, I was stuffed full, and all for about 1.75 a person. These dumplings are really good, especially for the price. While we had made a feeble attempted at ordering dumplings from our local horrible Chinese restaurant, they were horrible. And expensive, at 6.00 for much less food than we’d gotten from Trader Joes. To go alongside these I whipped up a quick dipping sauce from soy sauce, apple cider vinegar (I had no rice wine vinegar), and a tiny squirt of Hoisin sauce, plus some chives and red pepper flakes for color.

These make a filling, cheap, and delicious dinner, so I give them a 5/5.

Photo and Text by Jess.

Leave a Reply

