Pickle Post!

pickle pix

Jess: So today I got the strangest instant message–it was brief and mildly threatening. It concerned pickles. James had some, and needed to see me as soon as possible.

James: I was IMing with the best kind of problem: a pickle problem. A pickle problem from Paul, in fact. There was a craft fair held in Ramapo’s gym today, and I had chatted with Paul Shire from Paul’s Sour Pickles. On the way out, he offered me a tub of New Pickles to take home because he couldn’t sell them the next day. New Pickles are less than 24 hours old, and would become regular pickles by tomorrow.

Jess: James, I’m just not sure about New Pickles. They’re just a little too…fresh. Too young. Need some hard labor to salt them up a little more. They’re crispy and green and cucumbery, but something doesn’t feel right.

James: I actually liked them for all those reasons. Maybe I was biased by this being the first time this year I went outside without a coat, but these pickles said Spring. It was as if they had just been plucked from the pickle bush, and retained the great cucumber taste with just a hint of vingar and spices on the skin. Good stuff.–As an aside, Paul was telling me about how good pickles are for athletes. Apparently studies show that they are good for replenishing water and salt after workouts, and some pro athletes soak their hands in pickle brine to toughen the skin.

paul the pickle proprietor
Paul, Working With His Pickles
Leave a Reply

